In the News

Center for American Liberty Wins National Philanthropy Prize

Center for American Liberty Wins National Philanthropy Prize

PRESS RELEASE: (Washington, D.C.) – Recognizing its early success in the courtroom and the court of public opinion, the Center for American Liberty was selected today as winner of the 2020 Gregor G. Peterson Prize in Venture Philanthropy. Founded in 2018 by nationally recognized civil liberties attorney Harmeet Dhillon, the Center for American Liberty was selected by the Peterson family from a pool of more than 50 nonprofit nominees nationally.

The award will be presented during the American Legislative Exchange Council’s (ALEC) 2020 States and National Policy Summit being held virtually.  ALEC has been a strong advocate for philanthropic freedom and an ally in defending this principle.

“We are incredibly grateful to and humbled by the Peterson family’s generosity and encouragement,” said Harmeet K. Dhillon, Center for American Liberty founder and CEO, upon accepting the award.

Civil liberties legacy groups left millions of Americans behind—forgotten—in pursuit of partisanship and division.  The Center for American Liberty steps into this void by leveraging its nationwide network of attorneys to provide zealous legal advocacy to Americans whose fundamental freedoms are trampled by big government, powerful corporations, academia, and “big tech.”

“The Center for American Liberty’s work could not be timelier.  They’ve been the national leader challenging unconstitutional COVID-19 restrictions that violate Americans’ religious, economic, and property liberties,” said Eric Peterson, son of the Prize’s namesake, Greg Peterson, in announcing the news.

The $250,000 prize honors Greg Peterson’s core principles in business—including teamwork, innovation, and an entrepreneurial spirit—and applies these values to the charitable sector.  Peterson was a pioneer in the field of venture capital from the San Francisco Bay Area.

The Center for American Liberty is currently leading high-profile civil liberties litigation including: Givens v. NewsomCongregation Yesheos Yakov v. State of New YorkBrach v. NewsomNgo v. Rose City Antifa, and South Bay Pentecostal Church v. Newsom.

For further information about the Peterson Prize, please visit the official website found here:  Hoplin Jackson Charitable Advisors coordinated the nomination and evaluation process:


Center for American Liberty Wins National Philanthropy Prize

Related Posts